March 16, 2008

  • STOP THE PRESSES! MADAME LUKE SUPPORTS SPORTS TEAM!!!

     At the risk of flashing my virtual birth certificate, I am going to wax poetic momentarily about sports in the seventies.   They were scrappy, sloppy, sponsored by spark plug and hair product companies, and had stars that literally looked like you and me.  And believe me, you and me (…I)  weren’t all that hot.  (I’m not including Joe Namath in this list.  He was hot even without the pantyhose.  If you don’t know what I mean, I know how old you are.)  I remember roller derby.  Not Raquel Welch and James Caan roller Derby, but locally televised regional derby with banked tracks and tough people.  I also remember dirt track racing.  (The track of my youth was paved, and was only recently sold and turned into a…strip mall.  Our local track is dirt – and thriving, thank you very much.) 

    I am so excited to tell you that I witnessed first hand the opening night of our very own local Santa Cruz Roller Girls’ victory match over the Silicon Valley Roller Girls last night inside our Civic Auditorium, a flat former basketball court, where our county symphony currently performs.  I screamed, I yelled, I boo-ed.  I took part in a pitiful crowd wave (we live by the beach, people, get it together).  I was happy happy happy.

    Here is a working list of roller derby names I have started, and will add to at will:

    Bessie Mae Mucho
    Bi Furious
    The Mad Cow
    Ida Throttleya
    Gina Lola-Midget-a
    Alexis of Evil
    DeDe Dementia
    The Sick Shiksa
    Vickie Vortex

    and the current favorite (drum roll…..)

    Corpus Christie (with a skulls over the i’s)

     

Comments (4)

  • That is wild! We so thought about getting tickets to that… but it was our anniversary and we had to go away and do something romantic ;)

  • Bi Furious is AWESOME!

    wish I’d thought of it.

    my derby name is Emmeline Spankhurst.

    Tiff sent me here. derby is wonderful!

  • Betty, you’re such a history geek ;)

  • I love your derby name. I went through a big list of them for fun and my dh was, quite frankly, getting sick of it (but he loved Corpus Christie). I also liked these, some of which were voted “a little lofty”: Anna Karenin-yo-face, Gorey A. Steinem, Susan B. Amputee, Make-My-Day O’Connor (or Opus Dei O’Connor), Whistler’s Other Mother, Ethel Hurtz, and “Ethel-Merman-yeah-that’s-right-Ethel-Merman”.

    I should note AGAIN that I’m not a roller derby girl in the real world, just in my fantasy life, although I have been skating again, practicing my left inside turns and balance. Sigh….if only.

    Kim

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *